Australian Gold Year of the Rooster

  • Debut Mint: 2005 (Series I) and 2017 (Series II)
  • Mint: Perth Mint
  • Gold Purity: 0.999 (Series I) and 0.9999 (Series II)
  • Sales Tax or VAT: Exempt
Over 55? Get $10,000 of FREE Silver Bullion

The first series of the Australian Gold Year of the Rooster coin was minted in 2005 while the second series was released in 2017. The coin carries forward the legendary Chinese zodiac tradition, which is based on the 12-year cycle of the Chinese Lunar Calendar. Based on this Calendar, each year is ruled by one of the 12 animals that showed up when Buddha summoned all the animals to a meeting many millennia ago. The first series of the Australian Lunar coinage started in 1996 and concluded in 2007. The second series had higher gold purity of 99.99% than the first series, which had 99.9% fineness.

The 2017 Australian Gold Year of the Rooster coin was issued in four-coin sets of 24-carat gold sizes. They include 1, ½, ¼ and 1/10 t/oz sizes with corresponding face values of 100, 50, 25 and 15 Australian dollars. The coins have respective gross weights of 31.112g, 15.52g, 7.780g and 3.111g respectively. Their maximum diameters are 39.34mm, 30.60mm, 22.60mm and 18.6mm while their minimum thicknesses are 2.5mm, 2.2mm, 2.2mm and 2.2mm respectively.

On the obverse, the image of Queen Elizabeth II facing towards the right side of the coin with the inscription, “IRB” denoting its designer, Ian Rank-Broadley features predominantly. The inscriptions, ”ELIZABETH II AUSTRALIA” and the bullion weight, purity, “GOLD”, year and denomination run clockwise and anticlockwise at the top and bottom of the coin respectively. The reverse contains the image of a majestic rooster facing to the left with its right leg raised and the beak open. The Chinese symbol of the rooster is engraved directly next to the rooster’s beak. There are two sets of branches in front and behind the rooster. The inscription, “Year of the Rooster” is at the bottom of the coin below the rooster and proceeding anticlockwise.

The Australian Gold Year of the Rooster coin was produced by the Perth Mint. The Mint was founded two years before Australia gained independence in 1901. Perth Mint is in East Perth in the Western Australia region. Being legal tender, collectors and investors are not charged sales tax or VAT.

Additional information


The Perth Mint

Country of Origin





3.111 gm, 31.11 gm, 7.777 gm

Pure Gold Content

0.10 Troy oz, 0.25 Troy oz, 1 Troy oz




18.60 mm, 22.60 mm, 39.34 mm


999.9 fine gold / 24 carat gold


$100 AUD, $15 AUD, $25 AUD